Theatre

Collects entries that highlight the role of drama in intellectual and artistic life over the last 150 years.

This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to performances in playhouses, it covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions

Provides essential information on the best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary.

The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing threatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work.

An overview of musical theatre offers information on Britain's provincial theatres, American stages outside New York, new shows, revivals, and biographical sketches of singers and actors around the world.

Presents alphabetical entries for sixty-one playwrights who wrote from the early nineteenth through the late twentieth century, containing biographical information about the authors and critical assessments of their works.

Thirty-eight American scholars, poets, authors, and librarians contribute to this reference volume documenting the lives and works, and celebrating the collective achievement, of 62 gay poets and playwrights in the U.S. Each of the alphabetically arranged entries include a biography, discussion of major works and themes, an overview of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The featured artists include authors from diverse geographic locations and ethnic groups, well-known Edward Albee, Harvey Fierstein, Allen Ginsberg, Tony Kushner, James Merrill, Terrence McNally and lesser-known writers, those who came of age in the post- Stonewall U.S., as well as older authors whose works span several decades.

Key Concepts in Theatre/Drama Education provides the first comprehensive survey of contemporary research trends in theatre/drama education ... Fifty seven entries, written by sixty scholars from across the world, aim to convey the zeitgeist of the field. The book's key innovation lies in its method of writing, through collaborative networking, an open peer-review process, and meaning-making involving all contributors ... The volume clearly shows that drama/theatre educators and researchers have created a language with its own grammar and lucid syntax. The concepts outlined convey the current knowledge of scholars, highlighting what they consider significant.

This book is designed for the general education student in college--one who may not be familiar with many plays and has only seen a limited number of theatre productions. This edition focuses on just four plays: the tragedy Macbeth, the landmark African American drama A Raisin in the Sun, the contemporary musical Hamilton, and the American classic You Can't Take It with You