Theatre

Among the digital Performing Arts collections linked from this site are The New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939; and The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920.

Includes a multimedia, multilingual, Web-accessible database containing digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects (such as 3-D images) related to the performing arts from around the world. (No longer updated).

The Ransom Center's performing arts collections document a wide variety of performance genres, particularly from the United Kingdom and America. The collections feature holdings in theatre, dance, music, opera, and popular entertainments, such as the circus, vaudeville, pantomime, minstrel shows, puppetry, and magic. From drafts and promptbooks to designs and box office receipts, the materials in the collection emphasize the creative process from concept and staging to publication and revival.

The Harvard Theatre Collection at Houghton Library encompasses documentary material on the history of the performing arts, including theater, dance and ballet, and opera. The collection also covers many forms of popular entertainment, ranging from the circus to stage magic and minstrelsy.

With visual and audio images drawn from the extensive archival collections at The Library, the site covers subjects from the Broadway theater and Tin Pan Alley to the art of dancer Loie Fuller and composer Charles Griffes.

Over 1000 links on all aspects of costumes and costuming, from the classroom to the stage.

Extensive information resource detailing the rich variety of Elizabethan-era clothing, includes imagery, research, and do it yourself costume-making guides.

Model set images from early 20th century theatrical productions put on by Joseph Urban, including essays and bibliography relevant to the Columbia University collection.

An electronic reproduction of the 19th century work detailing costumes from across the globe in dozens of color plates.