How to find scholarly research on history in books and journal articles, getting background information, how to find primary sources, and citing your sources.
Index and abstracts to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada
America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications and news sources covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Full text articles and book chapters in the humanities and social sciences from over 230 scholarly publishers
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 230 publishers currently participating.
Interlibrary Loan (Articles)
If you cannot locate a journal article, use the Interlibrary Loan Forms. A librarian will locate a library that owns the material and will send for what you need.
Go straight to a specific article with the Citation Finder. Include at least the Journal Title, Volume, Issue, and Start Page or use the DOI for the most accurate results.
