Research Guides: Criminology: Background Information

Why Get Background Information?

Reasons to Take the Time to Find Background Information:

Identify and understand subject-specific terminology.
Put sources you find in context.
Learn major areas of research and unsettled questions.
Use citation lists to begin your research.

Reference Books

These are some suggested encyclopedias and dictionaries to look into. To find more, search the library catalog with a broad keyword relating your topic (ex. criminal justice, corrections, law) and "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" or "reference."

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by Gerben Bruinsma (Editor); David Weisburd (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by Bonnie S. Fisher; Steven P. Lab
Publication Date: 2010
Bringing together knowledge from a variety of disciplines including sociology and public policy, this authoritative reference source contains 375 entries discussing the status of victims within the criminal justice system and much more.
The U. S. Justice System by Steven Harmon Wilson
Publication Date: 2011
"A comprehensive, three-volume set that provides detailed background essays, short topical entries, and primary document excerpts to explain the organization, history, and functioning of the U.S. justice system." (publisher's summary)
A Dictionary of Forensic Science by Suzanne Bell
Publication Date: 2013
This dictionary covers in over 1,300 entries the key concepts within forensic science, including a wide array of relevant specialist terms from areas such as chemistry, biology, anthropology, art, engineering, firearms, toolmarks, trace evidence, crime scene investigation, case history, biographies of investigators and criminals, as well as forensic computing.
Social History of Crime and Punishment in America by Wilbur Redington Miller
Publication Date: 2012
This comprehensive and authoratative four-volume work surveys the history and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present.

Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Database of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions from Oxford University Press
Full text of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions on a variety of subjects, purchased from Oxford University Press. Coverage is especially good in history, biology, environmental science, life sciences, literature, bilingual dictionaries, athletic training & health sciences, political science, and philosophy.

These titles are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Books Center.