Research Guides: Sociology: Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles in Databases

Sociology Databases

The first two database are good, all-around search tools for Sociology research.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text to articles and other publications in sociology
Provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text to journal articles covering all areas of sociology
A comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

Linking Citations

This next database is a citation index. It covers multiple subjects, and it connects articles that cite each other, which are likely to be on the same topic.

Secondary Databases

These final databases cover major topics from a multidisciplinary perspective, including sociology.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-related scholarship
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues
Provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.
Disciplines covered by LGBT Life include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,300 terms.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Article citations covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies
Race Relation Abstracts is an index containing thousands of records carefully selected from the most important sources relating to social, political and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Topics include Ethnic Studies, Discrimination, Immigration Studies, Ideology, Community Relations, Ethnic Relations, Radicalism, Economics, Cutural Identity, & Pressure Groups
Womens Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for publications covering Women’s Studies
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Evaluate Your Results

Got a long list of results and not sure which ones to use? Try the Evaluating Sources Research Guide.

Evaluating Sources
by Cassandra Lagunzad Brown Last Updated Sep 30, 2022 570 views this year

Interlibrary Loan (Articles)

If you cannot locate a journal article, use the Interlibrary Loan Forms. A librarian will locate a library that owns the material and will send for what you need.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form Fill out this form with citation information and your contact information to request an article

Before placing a request, check the Citation Finder to make sure Beeghly does not have a copy.

Citation Finder
Find a specific article in the library's collection using citation information
more...less...
Go straight to a specific article with the Citation Finder. Include at least the Journal Title, Volume, Issue, and Start Page or use the DOI for the most accurate results.

Have a question? Email interlib@heidelberg.edu.