EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
What sources it can find: reference, books, news articles, magazine articles, scholarly articles, trade journal articles, and more. The EDS searches ALL of the resources available through Beeghly Library, both in print and online.
Where to find it: EDS is the main search box on the library’s homepage
Note: While it searches many different source types, you can limit it to only certain sources (see the “Filtering” section of “How to Search”).
Library Catalogs: Beeghly and OhioLINK
What sources they can find: Primarily books, in print and ebooks, though it can also find videos, music, and print copies of news, magazines, and scholarly journals.
Where to find them: The Beeghly Library Catalog and the OhioLINK Catalog are linked to in the Quicklinks section underneath EDS.
Note: There are two main library catalogs: the Beeghly Library Catalog and OhioLINK. The Beeghly Library Catalog searches what is in our collection, including our ebooks, but can also search the collections of some other Ohio private college and university libraries. The OhioLINK Catalog searches almost all of the college and university libraries in Ohio. You can request books and other materials from other libraries through OhioLINK. They usually arrive in 3-5 business days.
Databases
What sources they can find: Primarily scholarly, news, trade, and magazine articles, though there are databases for other sources
Where to find them: Go to the Quicklinks section underneath EDS and select "Databases."
Note: Most databases will include citations for articles that may not be available through our library, but which might be very important for your research. In that case, the articles can usually be obtained with an Interlibrary Loan request. See “Interlibrary Loan” for more information.
Suggested databases for WRI 101 or COM 100: On the “A-Z Databases” page, change the drop-down menu that says “All Subjects” to “Try First” (“Try First” is toward the bottom of the drop-down menu). These are a list of good, all-purpose databases, which include:
Academic Search Complete: provides articles on all major academic subjects. Mixes scholarly, news, magazine, and trade journal articlesWeb
While you may be very familiar with a regular Google search, consider trying some of these tools for finding sources on the Web.
Google Scholar (scholar.google.com): Searches the web for articles in scholarly journals using the simple Google interface. Many of the articles found will be behind paywalls (which means you’re required to pay to access them—but NEVER pay for your research while at Heidelberg), but you can get around most paywalls by connecting Google Scholar to our library collection. Find instructions here: http://libguides.heidelberg.edu/googlescholar/connect.
Google News (news.google.com): Searches through a select list of news organizations rather than the entire web. Also generally puts the most recent articles at the top of the results. Great for current events.
Bing News (bing.com/news): Similar to Google News, except powered by Bing search.
Interlibrary Loan
If you find a book that is not in our library or available through OhioLINK, or an article that isn’t in our library or available through our databases as a full-text option, you can (usually) still get the book or article. Do not limit yourself to only what is readily available. (However, avoid interlibrary loaning dissertations and theses—they are not considered peer reviewed sources.)
Go to the “Interlibrary Loan” link on the web page and fill out the book form for books and the periodical form for articles. A link to send in an interlibrary loan request should also appear for articles we do not own in all EBSCO databases.
It can take a week to ten days to get a book in through Interlibrary Loan or up to a week to get an article. You will be notified by email of a book’s arrival and an article will be emailed to you as a PDF document.