Research Guides: Philosophy: Background Information

Why Get Background Information?

Reasons to Take the Time to Find Background Information:

Identify and understand subject-specific terminology.
Put sources you find in context.
Learn major areas of research and unsettled questions.
Use citation lists to begin your research.

Philosophy Reference

Below is a sample of print and electronic reference books. Search the catalog for more or check the Suggested Terms for the books below in the catalog.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Simon Blackburn
Publication Date: 2014
Covers concepts, people, and works important to all areas of philosophy
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig
Call Number: Reference B51 .C58 2005
Publication Date: 2005
900 articles on major topics and people in philosophy, selected from the full Routledge Encyclopedia Of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of philosophy
includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

Encyclopedia of the Mind by Harold Pashler
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013
The Encyclopedia brings together scholars from the entire range of mind-related academic disciplines from across the arts and humanities, social sciences, life sciences, and computer science and engineering to explore the multidimensional nature of the human mind.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Ted Honderich (Editor)
ISBN: 9780191532658
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Ebook
Global Philosophy by Nicholas Maxwell
ISBN: 9781845407674
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Doing Philosophy by Gerald Rochelle
ISBN: 9781780460048
Publication Date: 2012-04-13