Research Guides: Philosophy: Finding Articles

Philosophy Databases

The first database is a good all-purpose search tool for philosophical research.

Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering theology, philosophy, and religious studies
Covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

JSTOR has back issues (usually mid-2000s and earlier) of major journals for philosophy.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of the full-text of core scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Our subscription focuses on history, business/economics,education, language & literature, music, political science, and sociology

The next database is a citation index. It links together articles that cite each other, which are likely to be on the same topic.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Film, Radio, Television. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Religion. Theater. More subject categories.

ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

These last databases are multidisciplinary and will contain philosophical scholarship.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Interlibrary Loan (Articles)

If you cannot locate a journal article, use the Interlibrary Loan Forms. A librarian will locate a library that owns the material and will send for what you need.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form Fill out this form with citation information and your contact information to request an article

Before placing a request, check the Citation Finder to make sure Beeghly does not have a copy.

Citation Finder
Find a specific article in the library's collection using citation information
more...less...
Go straight to a specific article with the Citation Finder. Include at least the Journal Title, Volume, Issue, and Start Page or use the DOI for the most accurate results.

Have a question? Email interlib@heidelberg.edu.

Philosophy

Research Assistance

Evaluate Your Results

Philosophy Databases

Interlibrary Loan (Articles)