Click below to schedule one-on-one support from a librarian.
K-12 Databases
All of the below are databases with content focused on children or young adults. Use the database description to find what age groups they cover and want content is contained in them.
Most of these databases are provided by the state of Ohio through the INFOhio program and are available to teachers and students at all Ohio public schools.
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines
Provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines. Full text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines
Provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines
Provides full text from 57 children�s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children's reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of Animals and full text for over 100 pamphlets.
Full text science reference content geared towards high school students
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
World Book Encyclopedia, Spanish Language Encyclopedia, Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica, primary source materials, and other research tools
More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.
Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.
WBW uses a powerful search engine that integrates encyclopedia articles, media, primary source documents, e-books, maps, and more in a single search.
Other special features: Timeline builder; Citation builder; Classroom activities, lesson plans, and discussion guides for every grade level; and Content correlated to state and provincial standards.
INFOhio offers content and services to Ohio residents, especially for PreK-12 students, their parents, and their teachers. Provides access to numerous databases on many subjects, giving equitable access to quality resources and cost-effective instructional and technical support for each student, educator, and parent in Ohio.
INFOhio offers content and services to Ohio residents, especially for PreK-12 students, their parents, and their teachers. Provides access to numerous databases on many subjects, giving equitable access to quality resources and cost-effective instructional and technical support for each student, educator, and parent in Ohio.
