Research Guides: HNR 303: Artist: The Films of Stanley Kubrick: Find Sources

Books

At Beeghly Library

Come in to the library to view these books.

Listening to Stanley Kubrick: The Music in his Films by Christine L. Gengaro
Call Number: ML2075 .G46 2013
ISBN: 9780810885646
Publication Date: 2012-11-02
Stanley Kubrick at Look Magazine by Philippe Mather
Call Number: View Online
ISBN: 9781783200443
Publication Date: 2013-02-06

In OhioLINK

(OhioLINK allows you to check out books from other universities in Ohio. You can request these books online.)

A.I. Artificial Intelligence from Stanley Kubrick to Steven Spielberg by Jan Harlan (Editor)
Call Number: PN1997.2 .A425 2009
ISBN: 9780500514894
Publication Date: 2009-11-03
Stanley Kubrick: Adapting the Sublime by Elisa Pezzotta
Call Number: PN1998.3 .K83 2013
ISBN: 9781617038938
Publication Date: 2013-07-25
The Kubrick Legacy by Mick Broderick (Editor)
Call Number: PN1998.3.K83 K835 2019
ISBN: 9780367181420
Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Space Odyssey by Michael Benson
ISBN: 9781501163937
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
True to the Spirit by Colin MacCabe (Editor); Rick Warner (Editor); Kathleen Murray (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195374667
Publication Date: 2011-01-26

Course Reserves

HNR303 Course Reserves
Click on the link to see what is available in HNR 303-14 course reserves. These books and DVDs are behind the Beeghly Library circulation desk, and you can check them out for 1 day.

Find Articles Online

A great way to start your search in these databases is by typing "Stanley Kubrick." From there you can add keywords when you need to refine your search through the "Advanced Search" option.

You will notice that a lot of the database interfaces look the same, however they are not the same databases. While they may have duplicate articles among them, they each offer unique information about Kubrick and his films.

Don't hesitate to chat with us online, schedule an appointment, or visit Beeghly!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ASC is a great place to start your research, and it will provide you with a lot of information on Kubrick's life as a director as well as criticisms of his works and reviews.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers articles that center on Kubrick's influence on and inspiration from pop culture, cinema, and history. Like ASC, the articles offer criticisms of Kubrick's works as well as his impact on film and society.
Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”).
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive database that covers the entire spectrum of television and film. Articles in this database analyze Kubrick's films by going into themes of gender, religion, the concept of dreams, and much more. This is also a great site to find reviews on his works.
The online resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Offers "Critical Readings" and "Critical Contexts"--among other articles--which go into topics like masculinity and family relationships in his works as well as how his narratives are structured and the music in his films. Also a great database for criticisms of the novels that influenced Kubrick's films as well as comparisons between the novels and films.
LRC includes:
Over 1,200 Additional Full-Text Literary Reference Books/Works, including titles with a focus on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, Hispanic literature, and other areas
Over 200 Additional Full-Text Literary Journals & Magazines, including titles with a focus on multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature
35 Volumes of New Contemporary Literature Titles from Salem Press relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners
40 Full-Text Literary study guides
plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
articles of literary criticism
full text of literary journals
author biographies
book reviews
author interviews
and images of key literary figures
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Offers articles that analyze Kubrick's works. Compares some of Kubrick's films to the novels they are based.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 230 publishers currently participating.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Discusses the music used in Kubrick's films and the symbolism behind his music choices.
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.
Areas of coverage encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics.

Research Assistance

Click below to schedule one-on-one support from a librarian.

Searching Tips

If you are having trouble locating information specifically on the film you are looking for, try searching, "Stanley Kubrick" and the title of your film. For example:

Stanley Kubrick AND Lolita

This will give you articles that discuss both, the director and the film.

You can also add more keywords, like "Music" to make your search more specific.