Research Guides: HIS 321: Medieval History: Library Books

Finding Books

Beeghly Library Catalog (OPAL)
Searches books at Heidelberg and other private Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.
OhioLINK Catalog
Searches books at Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.

Humanities E-Book (ACLS) This link opens in a new window
3,690 electronic books in area studies, history, and other humanities
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books from Oxford University Press.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and read over 130,000 academic eBooks. Formerly NetLibrary
A library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Reference Books

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork
Publication Date: 2010
Covers aspects of European political, military, social, cultural, and economic history during the Middle Ages. Also details contemporary history in the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and in Asia.
Defining Documents in World History: the Middle Ages (524-1431) by Salem Press
Call Number: D113 .M53 2015 (also ebook)
Publication Date: 2015
A selection of major primary sources from the Middle Ages translated into English.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by André Vauchez
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2005
Provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the Middle Ages from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
Atlas of the Medieval World by Rosamond McKitterick
Call Number: Reference D117 .M35 2004
Publication Date: 2004
In this atlas, pictures of art and architecture accompanying an expertly written text are featured alongside stunning maps covering nearly a millennium of medieval civilizations around the world, capturing the Arab invasions of Europe, the empire of Charlemagne, the African kingdoms of Songhai and Mali, the Crusades, the Viking and Mongol invasions, and the T'ang and Ming empires, among other topics.
Medieval Folklore by Carl Lindahl; John McNamara; John Lindow
Publication Date: 2000
Articles describe medieval myths and legends; customs and activities; religious beliefs of pagans, Christians, and Muslims; oral and written works; holidays; and traditional music and art.

Research Assistance

Click below to schedule one-on-one support from a librarian.

Google Books

Use Google Books to search the entire text of printed books or read public domain (pre-1923) books. If you find a book that appears useful but cannot be completely read, order it via the Beeghly catalog or through OhioLINK.