EDU 502: Education Research

Provides authoritative definitions for terms that apply to educational research, practice, and theory.

Covers topics in K-12 and higher education, policy and legislation, educational organizations, learning and instruction, out-of-school influences, teacher preparation, and testing. Includes information on education both in the US and internationally.

Entries explain how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results.

This publication reflects the myriad theories that have developed over the past century to explain how we acquire, organize and deploy knowledge and skills. Providing up-to-date, wide-ranging and authoritative coverage, this is the first reference of its kind.

In this two volume set, educators explore the intersection of gender and education. Their entries deal with educational theories, research, curricula, practices, personnel, and policies, but also with variations in the gendering of education across historical and cultural contexts. The various contributors discuss gender as a social construction. The latest research on boys and masculinities, as well as girls and feminism, is included.

An encyclopedia intended to provide a comprehensive background to the multidisciplinary study of the social and cultural foundations of education in the United States.

In 28 chapters, education scholars from the US, Canada, and the UK explore the context of inquiry, its purposes, and key stakeholders; challenges and issues in formulating meaningful problems and doing research, and strategies to address them, including data, design, analyses, and conclusions; and examples of critical incidents that have shaped their research.

This comprehensive volume covers the field of special education in the United States from its beginnings to the present day.

The knowledge base of how student engagement affects educational outcomes and career attainment has grown immeasurably in the last decade. The Handbook of Research on Student Engagement presents methods to connect and re-engage marginalized, uninterested students.

This book provides an authoritative, yet accessible guide to the philosophy of education, its scope, its key thinkers and movements, and its potential contribution to a range of educational concerns.

Presents an authoritative distillation of current global knowledge related to the field of primary years literacy studies

For UK and international teachers, policy makers, academics, teacher educators, and graduate students in education, Czerniawski and Kidd (education, U. of East London, UK) draw together 34 essays by researchers, academics, classroom teachers, and learners in Europe, the US, China, and Australia who describe the Student Voice movement to involve learners in democratic decision making.