Research Guides: Psychology: Finding Articles

Psychology Databases

Major Databases

These first two databases cover a wide variety of psychology topics and are probably where you should begin your research.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

It is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains over 3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.

Secondary Databases

These next databases are not psychology-specific, but may be useful if you are pursuing a topic related to the relation of biology to psychology, neuroscience, or the medical applications of psychology.

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Find articles, books, and conference paper citations in the biological and life sciences
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text to articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences. National Library of Medicine (NLM)
A comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.

Linking Research

This next database is a citation index. It links together articles that cite each other, which are likely to be on similar topics.

Interlibrary Loan (Articles)

If you cannot locate a journal article, use the Interlibrary Loan Forms. A librarian will locate a library that owns the material and will send for what you need.

Interlibrary Loan Article Request Form Fill out this form with citation information and your contact information to request an article

Before placing a request, check the Citation Finder to make sure Beeghly does not have a copy.

Citation Finder
Find a specific article in the library's collection using citation information
more...less...
Go straight to a specific article with the Citation Finder. Include at least the Journal Title, Volume, Issue, and Start Page or use the DOI for the most accurate results.

Have a question? Email interlib@heidelberg.edu.

Psychology

Research Assistance

Evaluate Your Results

Psychology Databases

Major Databases

Secondary Databases

Linking Research

Interlibrary Loan (Articles)