Faculty Information: Databases

Google Scholar searches for articles and books in a variety of subjects. You can connect your account to the library.

Use the Research Databases to identify articles in periodicals. Most disciplines include scholarly journals, as well as popular magazines, trade publications, or newspapers that cover the current issues within a field.

From the Beeghly Library website go to Finding Articles and Databases. 

Click the link on that page to take you to the Databases AZ list. You can limit the databases to those appropriate for your subjects by using the Subject dropdown menu.

Once in a database, look for its:

Unique search features 

Can you search by:

• Company names or stock market ticker symbols
• Industry codes 
• Research or professional journals
• Trade publications or newspapers
• Popular press
• Cited Sources

Use advanced search strategies

• Use Boolean Logic - "AND" to combine terms, "OR" to compile a list of synonyms or similar concepts, "NOT" to eliminate a term
• Search for word variations by using the asterisk* to truncate the root word, ex. librar* searches for libraries, library, librarian 
• Combine Search Results from the Search strategy History
• Notice Subject Terms assigned to describe an article and use them in your search

Once you find your articles

• Can you save them to a folder to review, email, or print later?
• Can you select a bibliographic style manual for the citations?
• Are there links to works cited?
• Is there an indication if this article has been cited?
• Is there full-text attached?
• Can you link to full-text in another source?

Click below to schedule one-on-one support from a librarian. 

Schedule Appointment