Research Guides: Current Events: Library Resources

Databases Focusing on Full Text Current News

MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Emphasis on news and popular sources with some scholarly journals
Provides full text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,510 periodicals. The database also contains full text for reference and travel books; biographies; primary source documents; and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns
Provides full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 392 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, business sources, legal journals, state and federal laws, medical articles, and reference sources.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world
A collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources.

Ohio Newspapers Online

Ohio Newspaper Association: Member List

Evaluate with the TRAAP Test

Not sure which result to use as a source? Try the TRAAP Test:

Timeliness: Is the information new? What might have changed since this source was published?

Relevance: Is this source on your topic? Is only a section of it on your topic? Does it only cover some parts of your topic?

Authority: Why should you trust that this author knows what she or he is talking about?

Accuracy: How did the author come up with the information in this source?

Purpose: Why did this author create this source? What is his or her perspective?

Learn more with our Evaluating Sources research guide:

Evaluating Sources
by Cassandra Lagunzad Brown Last Updated Sep 30, 2022 335 views this year