This guide is meant to be your one-stop shop for finding library resources on your topic. Use the Contact Us page to chat online with a librarian or set up a research consultation.
Explore Topics
EXPLORE TOPICS:
Search books, journals, newspapers, and magazines:
Very Short Introductions offers informative and concise introductions about a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, and Globalization to Literary Theory. All titles are written by specialists in the field.
Contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). A Guide to Critical Analysis is also provided to assist with evaluating the controversial topics
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications. The Points of View Debate Blog is a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications and news sources covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present
Provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers.
The biographies are searchable by name, profession, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, date of birth, date of death, keyword, and presence of images. Daily updates provide up-to-the-minute coverage of newsmakers.
Full-text articles, abstracts, and images gleaned from thousands of magazines and journals cover new names and expand on existing profiles. Book review excerpts and full text reviews help users find and select print biographies.
Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.
Index and abstracts of articles related to film and television
The online resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines
Provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Archive of the full-text of core scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Our subscription focuses on history, business/economics,education, language & literature, music, political science, and sociology
Use the CRAAP Test
As you begin collecting sources, remember to evaluate them! Use the criteria below to help you make sure you have found the right resources, and remember to follow your assignment prompt!
Currency
When was the information published or posted?
Is the information current or has it been updated?
Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work?
Are the links working? Does the page load completely?
Relevance
Is the source relevant to your topic? Does it answer your question?
Is the information at an appropriate level?
Are you comfortable citing the source?
Authority
Who is the author/publisher/source?
What are the author's qualifications on the subject he/she is writing about?
Is there contact information for the author, or an "About Us" page if a website?
If a website, is it affiliated with a credible organization? What does the URL reveal about the source?
(.com, .edu, .gov, .org, .net)
Accuracy
Can I verify any of the information from another source or my own knowledge?
Is the information supported by evidence? Are there references?
Does the language look unbiased or without emotion?
Are there any spelling or grammatical errors?
Purpose
Is the author's intent clearly stated?
Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
Is the point of view objective, or is there a bias?
(Modified from "Applying the CRAAP Test" from Meriam Library at California State University, Chico)
