The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications and news sources covering all academic areas of study.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Index, abstracts, and full text articles covering art and related fields
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Film, Radio, Television. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Religion. Theater. More subject categories.
ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Very Short Introductions offers informative and concise introductions about a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, and Globalization to Literary Theory. All titles are written by specialists in the field.
Database of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions from Oxford University Press
Full text of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions on a variety of subjects, purchased from Oxford University Press. Coverage is especially good in history, biology, environmental science, life sciences, literature, bilingual dictionaries, athletic training & health sciences, political science, and philosophy.
These titles are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Books Center.
"The Oxford Companion is an indispensable guide to the richly textured history of ancient Greece and Rome. From military history to architecture, ancient law to mythology, the sciences to the arts, these meticulously detailed entries breathe life into the people, places and events that shaped the development of classical civilization."
"The aim is to provide a comprehensive, free reference guide to the gods (theoi), spirits (daimones), fabulous creatures (theres) and heroes of ancient Greek mythology and religion."
Use the CRAAP Test
As you begin collecting sources, remember to evaluate them! Use the criteria below to help you make sure you have found the right resources, and remember to follow your assignment prompt!
Currency
When was the information published or posted?
Is the information current or has it been updated?
Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work?
Are the links working? Does the page load completely?
Relevance
Is the source relevant to your topic? Does it answer your question?
Is the information at an appropriate level?
Are you comfortable citing the source?
Authority
Who is the author/publisher/source?
What are the author's qualifications on the subject he/she is writing about?
Is there contact information for the author, or an "About Us" page if a website?
If a website, is it affiliated with a credible organization? What does the URL reveal about the source?
(.com, .edu, .gov, .org, .net)
Accuracy
Can I verify any of the information from another source or my own knowledge?
Is the information supported by evidence? Are there references?
Does the language look unbiased or without emotion?
Are there any spelling or grammatical errors?
Purpose
Is the author's intent clearly stated?
Is the information fact, opinion, or propaganda?
Is the point of view objective, or is there a bias?
(Modified from "Applying the CRAAP Test" from Meriam Library at California State University, Chico)
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by