Grove Music Online. Definitive guide to music, including genres, composers, musicians, technique, history, and more
Online access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), The Grove Dictionary of American Music (2013), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (2014), The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2006), The Oxford Companion to Music (2011), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (2009). Includes updates to articles that are not available in the printed versions.
"A fascinating exploration of the relationship between American culture and music as defined by musicians, scholars, and critics from around the world." (publisher's summary)
Explores the origins of American folk and traditional music, including what music developed in what regions and its connections to music in the musicians' homelands.
"Offers the researcher an annotated catalogue of the available solo piano music in print composed by women born before the 20th century." (publisher's summary)
"Offers the researcher an annotated catalogue of the available solo piano music in print composed by women born in the 20th century." (publisher's summary)
"An overview of musical theatre offers information on Britain's provincial theatres, American stages outside New York, new shows, revivals, and biographical sketches of singers and actors around the world." (publisher's summary)
"[O]ffers in-depth coverage of Broadway musicals from 1850-2001. The book's entries span more than 5,000 shows, including not only "book musicals" but also revivals, revues, burlesques, operettas, farce comedies, comic operas, ice skating shows, rock operas, and other musical spectacles that appeared on Broadway stages." (from publisher's summary)
Overview of musicals in the United States, with information for each musical (when available) on opening date, theater, length of run, musical genre, composer, librettist, lyricist, producer, director, songs in the show, and original cast.
"Compiled by the Country Music Foundation and accompanied by a foreword by singer Emmylou Harris, an up-to-date, entertaining, and authoritative encyclopedia of American country music contains almost 1,300 articles and hundreds of color photographs. 25,000 first printing." (publisher's summary)
"ompiles discographies, personnel changes, biographical information, and reviews of rock, hip-hop, electronica, and pop musicians including Radiohead, Britney Spears, Sleater-Kinney, Outkast, and King Crimson." (publisher's summary)
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of education, psychology, sociology, and the arts.
"Providing an extensive overview of the music, fashion, films, and philosophies behind the movement, this inclusive encyclopedia chronicles the history and development of heavy metal, including sub-movements such as death metal, speed metal, grindcore, and hair metal." (publisher's summary)
Music in American Life by 
Piano Music by Women Composers, V1: Composers Before 1900 by 
Piano Music by Women Composers, V2: Women Born After 1900 by 
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater by 
A Chronology of American Musical Theater by 
American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion 1877-1995 by 
The Encyclopedia of Country Music by 
The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock and Roll by 
Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent by 
Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal Music by