Research Guides: HIS 359: History of Germany: Library Books

Finding Books

Beeghly Library Catalog (OPAL)
Searches books at Heidelberg and other private Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.
OhioLINK Catalog
Searches books at Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.

Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books from Oxford University Press.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and read over 130,000 academic eBooks. Formerly NetLibrary
A library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Reference Books

Use these to gain background information on your topic before you search.

The Oxford Handbook of Modern German History by Helmut Walser Smith
Call Number: DD175 .O94 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Synthesis of major themes and topics in modern German history, covering politics, economics, culture, and demographics
A Dictionary of World History by Anne Kerr; Edmund Wright
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
"This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day. It includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places." (From publisher's summary)
Encyclopedia of the Modern World by Peter N. Stearns
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2008
" The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics." (From publisher's summary)

The Reichstag building during the fall of Berlin, 1949

Image reprinted from http://omassoud.free.fr/wordpress/wp-content/Reichstag-1945.jpg

Research Assistance

Click below to schedule one-on-one support from a librarian.

Google Books

Use Google Books to search the entire text of printed books or read public domain (pre-1923) books. If you find a book that appears useful but cannot be completely read, order it via the Beeghly catalog or through OhioLINK.