Research Guides: HIS 341: History of England: Library Books

Finding Books

Beeghly Library Catalog (OPAL)
Searches books at Heidelberg and other private Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.
OhioLINK Catalog
Searches books at Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.

Humanities E-Book (ACLS) This link opens in a new window
3,690 electronic books in area studies, history, and other humanities
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books from Oxford University Press.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and read over 130,000 academic eBooks. Formerly NetLibrary
A library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Reference Books

Use these sources to get background on your topic before you start searching.

A Dictionary of British History by John Cannon
Publication Date: 2013
Containing more than 3,800 authoritative entries written by over 100 specialist contributors, this dictionary describes the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain since 55 BC.
The Oxford Companion to British History (2nd edition) by John Cannon (Editor); Robert Crowcroft (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015
"[D]escribes and analyses the people and events that have shaped and defined life in Britain over more than 2,000 years of political, social, and cultural change."
The Oxford Companion to Black British History by David Dabydeen (Editor); John Gilmore (Editor); Cecily Jones (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2007
"Essential reading for anyone wishing to understand the long and fascinating history of black people in the British Isles, The Oxford Companion to Black British History explores the subject from its beginnings in Roman times to the present day."
Atlas of the Medieval World by Rosamond McKitterick
Call Number: Reference D117 .M35 2004
Publication Date: 2004
In this atlas, pictures of art and architecture accompanying an expertly written text are featured alongside stunning maps covering nearly a millennium of medieval civilizations around the world, capturing the Arab invasions of Europe, the empire of Charlemagne, the African kingdoms of Songhai and Mali, the Crusades, the Viking and Mongol invasions, and the T'ang and Ming empires, among other topics.
The Kings and Queens of Britain by John Cannon; Anne Hargreaves
Publication Date: 2009
"This authoritative and accessible guide to the British monarchy spans the Romano-British rulers of 55 BC to the present day House of Windsor. Generously illustrated with maps, photos, paintings, and genealogies, it contains a wealth of information on the rulers of Britain, including their policies, personalities, key dates, and legacies." (publisher's summary)

Hadrian's Wall

Photo from: http://directoryofnewcastleupontyne.com/blog/2009/08/27/newcastle-history-hadrians-wall-wallsend/

Research Assistance

Click below to schedule one-on-one support from a librarian.