Research Guides: COM 411: Senior Seminar: Library Books

Reference Books

Sometimes it seems easier to just look things up online, but don't overlook the great resources we have in print in the library. The reference books below are a small sampling of what's available. For more resources, search the library's catalog for terms related to your research, or ask a librarian for help!

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information by Jorge Reina Schement
Call Number: Reference P87.5 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Overview of a wide variety of topics relating to communication
International Encyclopedia of Communications by Erik Barnouw (Editor); George Gerbner (Editor); Wilbur L. Schramm (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P87.5 .I5 1989
Publication Date: 1989
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama by Gabrielle H. Cody (Editor); Evert Sprinchorn (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PN1861 .C65 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Collects entries that highlight the role of drama in intellectual and artistic life over the last 150 years.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PN2035 .O94 2003
Publication Date: 2003
From ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in stage design, from the trance-dances of Sumatra to an extensive biography of the legendary actor-manager Eleonore Duse, the Encyclopedia provides unrivaled information across the broad sweep of theatrical activity.
Available in print and ebook. Use link to obtain ebook.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith Grant
Call Number: Reference PN1993.45 .G65 2007
Publication Date: 2007
A comprehensive guide to film contains entries discussing genres, the impact of motion pictures on society, studios, the technical processes involved in film production, and the history of the format.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by Roberta E. Pearson; Gill Branston; William Urricchio; Philip Simpson; David Black
Call Number: Reference PN1993.45 .C75 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory clearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms.
Encyclopedia of Television by Horace Newcomb (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PN1992.18 .E53 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The Encyclopedia of Television, second edtion is the first major reference work to provide description, history, analysis, and information on more than 1100 subjects related to television in its international context.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Mary Kupiec (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor); Mary K. Cayton (Editor)
Call Number: Reference E169.1 .E62 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A study of American thought and culture throughout history examines the individuals and documents that revealed significant ideas, issues, and movements.
Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture by Jessie Carney Smith (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture presents information in a traditional A–Z organization, capturing the essence of the customs of African Americans and presenting this rich cultural heritage through the lens of popular culture.

Google Books

Use Google Books to search the entire text of printed books or read public domain (pre-1923) books. If you find a book that appears useful but cannot be completely read, order it via the Beeghly catalog or through OhioLINK.