Research Guides: GER 290: Introduction to Study Abroad: Library Books

Find a Book

Improve your search with our catalog how-to

Beeghly Library Catalog (OPAL)
Searches books at Heidelberg and other private Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.
OhioLINK Catalog
Searches books at Ohio academic libraries. Books from other libraries can be shipped to Beeghly.

Humanities E-Book (ACLS) This link opens in a new window
3,690 electronic books in area studies, history, and other humanities
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and book chapters in the humanities and social sciences from over 230 scholarly publishers
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 230 publishers currently participating.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences, and social sciences
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and read over 130,000 academic eBooks. Formerly NetLibrary
A library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Library Books

Sometimes it seems easier to just look things up online, but don't overlook the great resources we have in the library. The books below are a small sampling of what's available. For more resources, search the library's catalog for terms related to your research, or ask a librarian for help!

Reference materials

Modern Germany : an Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990 / editors, Dieter K. Buse, Juergen C. Doerr.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture / edited by John Sandford.

Work, study, travel abroad : the whole world handbook / written by Marjorie Adoff Cohen.

Texts

The German way : aspects of behavior, attitudes, and customs in the German-speaking world / Hyde Flippo (http://www.german-way.com/)

Kohls, L. Robert. Developing intercultural awareness [electronic resource] : a cross-cultural training handbook / L. Robert Kohls and John M. Knight.